Superscript and Subscript

Today’s post is about how to global a word with superscript or subscript.

User settings -> document tab -> advanced -> master font

Font 0 should be your default font style. The text above is a key to what the data between the slashes means.

Select Add font..

Select font style and characteristics identical to what you have in 0, then change the vertical offset number to whatever you want. Negative for subscript, positive for superscript — The help menu said 100/-100 is typical for super/subscript.

You can go back to the Master Font menu and select your new font and click change font to adjust it if you’re not happy with that.

When you global, for the number or letter that you want to be super- or subscript, insert {FN:4} (or whatever number your new font is assigned in the master font menu) before the number/letter to turn super/subscripts on and {FN:0} after to return to your normal font.

Ex: for H20 with a subscript on the 2, you would do:  H{FN:4}2{FN:0}0

Edit: Mirabai came up with a slightly less complicated method using a special font. You can read about it here: http://blog.stenoknight.com/2012/03/cart-problem-solving-superscript-and.html

About nerdformacros

Court reporter, Child of the Internet, Not Tech Support. Okay, maybe basic tech support, but that's it!
This entry was posted in Globals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superscript and Subscript

  1. You know, i tried it your way first, and it just didn’t work; turning superscript or subscript on was fine, but every time I invoked the superscript or subscript off command, it wouldn’t do anything, and it wound up making the entire rest of the document in superscript or subscript, which, uh, wasn’t what I was going for. Maybe I was doing something wrong, or maybe this was a bug in an earlier version of Eclipse that was fixed in later versions. I don’t know. But I like the Chemistry Serif solution both because it’s pretty foolproof and because it also allows me to use the letters of the Greek alphabet in the same font, which are often used in the same types of classes that employ superscript and subscript. It also saves a stroke because you don’t have to explicitly turn superscript or subscript off each time you use it.

    • Hmm. I also have problems with macros not doing what I want them to sometimes. I think it might be because I changed some of the default hotkeys to something else and that screwed up some of the commands. =\ I have to call tech support about that one day.

      Yeah, I think your way is better if you’re going to be using it for a whole class. I learn something new every day. :)

      • Wow, I hadn’t thought of that. I bet that’s what it is; I’ve remapped a ton of hyperkeys, so if any of the macros rely on the originally mapped versions of the keys, that could definitely explain why they don’t work as advertised. That’s pretty bad design, though. Argh, Eclipse is so frustrating. I can’t wait until Plover can just take all this stuff over for me.

      • Yeah. The weird thing is I think for some commands it affects macros even if you don’t use the hyperkey command in your macro. For example, if F5 was originally set as “new fixed line” and I remapped it to something else. Then if I had a macro that didn’t use F5, but instead picked the direct command for a new fixed line from the drop-down, it still wouldn’t work. It would do whatever the new F5 command was. Anyway, I’ll call them sometime and see if they have a fix or workaround and let you know.

Leave a Reply

